PDA

View Full Version : Buying a Used 450r

KingpinsEx
02-27-2008, 06:58 PM
I have recently comtemplated purchasing a used 450r to build into a mx bike. With all the new bikes coming out it is a hard decidison, but I have always been loyal to honda power and their reliability. However I have been reading through the threads and discovered the thread on the crank failures. This is about the only major mechanical problem I have come across reading with the honda.

So my question is this, should I just steer away from 450rs or just certain years or certain quads? Or is this a not if but when question? I'm a pretty decent mechanic and am not afraid to do some repair's, along with the steady maintenance that high-performance bikes require. However I don't want to be getting into frequent rebuilds, as I don't have that kind of money to spend. Any input would be appreciated...

02-27-2008, 07:29 PM
04 and 05 have the crank problems not the 06 and up.

Ogener
02-27-2008, 10:53 PM
Alot of the 04 and 05 450rs that I have seen for sale already have the crank fixed. so I guess that could be something you can look for If your looking at one.

blacknblue#2
02-28-2008, 03:55 AM
If your gonna build an MX quad i say look for an 06+ 450R. They are a completely different engine from the 04 and 05. Get an 06+ do some head work, valve work, a good piston and a good cam and you can be very competitive. With the 06 you seem to have a fairly proven bottom end to hold some power and one of the best carbs you could have to start with.

NJ450rider
02-28-2008, 09:09 AM