PDA

View Full Version : checking valves holy crap

xcracer416
02-25-2008, 07:34 PM
well i decided to check my valves tonight since they have about 30 hours since they was last checked. Dealership has been doing it, but since i am a mechanic i decided since times are tough ill go ahead and do them myself. I went by the service manual and found a problem. i took out my spark plug and the plug on the side cover, i pushed the kick starter down just a fraction to see which way the engine turned. after i lined up the dot on the crank with the little arrow, and seen my cam lobes was pointed towards the back i knew the engine was at tdc. I checked my cam sprocket and noticed that the gear was one tooth off from the indicator. has anyone seen this with a bone stock engine? im gonna loosen the tension off the cam chain and rotate the gear back one tooth if you guys think it would be a good idea. I have raced this quad about 4 times since the last time they was checked, and havent had the first issue with the engine performance. It has always started on first or second kick, runs like a raped ape. timing chain has not made the first amount of noise, i cant figure out what could have caused this. i did take the plug out of the stator cover also and noticed that if i line a mark up(paint on the mark) on the flywheel, with the indention on the side cover my cam sproket lines up then, but not with the actual timing marks.

MossboysRacing
02-25-2008, 09:48 PM