PDA

View Full Version : Tuning the DS 450

Spaceace
02-17-2008, 08:32 PM
I am by no means a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination. However I do enjoy trying to do my own work to my ATV'S. I would never attempt anything major, but rejetting a carb or bleeding the brake lines to remove air bubbles, are certainly in my comfort zone.

My DS450 is not fully broken in yet, so I don't plan on any mods for a few weeks, but I was hoping to get some basic knowledge while I wait. There seems to be a shortage of useful information on this bike at present.

Basically what I am wondering off the bat is:

How would anyone know if cutting the pink wire is the correct tune for an after market exhaust, open airbox, and K&N filter?

Wouldn't different aftermarket exhausts call for different fuel maps?

What about adjustments for altitude?

Is there the equivanent of a fuel mixture screw for slight adjustments?

On my YFZ I used to run a CT Racing pipe where you could add or remove rings to adjust noise levels and air-flow. I believe the Rossier pipe for the DS450 has an similar option. Wouldn't those changes require some change to the fuel mixture? This is important for me because I do ride a mix of regulated, patroled, municipal trails and private trails with no noise restrictions.

I know the power commander isn't out yet. How similar is the Motoworks FMI? How does it work? If it doesn't connect to a laptop or anything how can you see all the data that need to determine what tweeks needs to be made? Does it allow you to save maps and send them to people with the same set-up?

Any other useful information about what it is going to take for your average guy to have a corrently tuned machine?

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!

nvrpmx
02-18-2008, 08:21 PM