PDA

View Full Version : Should i switch to z400

07trx400ex
02-12-2008, 03:00 PM
I bought a new 07 ex in december and have enjoyed riding at least every weekend i like the performance of the z and and i am thinking that i want to switch to z, but there are 2 reasons holding me back

1) Maintenance- how much more is it and has anybody experienced maintenance issues from VERY aggressive trail riding and occasional track time (non-organized racing)

2) Gearing- Everything i have read says that z's like to be revved i have no experience with them but i ride ALOT of trails and dont need to be constantly clutching and will going down a tooth (to 13) on the front sprocket fill this and will this cause any other problems Basicly is it geared to high for trails often very technical

3)Money i bought my ex for 3999 out the door brand new and dont want to pay much more than that for a z the most i would pay is 4500-5000 and i want to buy new; i could possibly buy used but i know the type of abuse these go through and would rather know it has been taken care of. Do any of you have any suggestions on this?

I appreciate you guys opinions on this any help is appreciated.

Pipeless416
02-12-2008, 03:09 PM
ok, you have reasons holding you back.. now what are the reasons that are making you want to switch? my family has 2 EX's and 1 Z.. i might be able to help. :)

07trx400ex
02-12-2008, 03:20 PM
The reason i want to switch is because i like the way they look better and everyone says they perform better, there is just that something that i seem to like them better i need to ride one but ALL my friends have ex's so im a little stuck

08400EX
02-12-2008, 03:25 PM
Something else to think about... Obviously one of the main reason you are considering this is for pure performance reasons.

While for me personally I really don't see how you could use much more in the woods (at least around here) than a solid 400ex with a few mods.