PDA

View Full Version : sub cuts off when turn up boost

Kickstarts-suck
02-10-2008, 01:01 AM
I have a Kicker zx400.1 amp putting out 486 watts RMS (says on paper from kicker)
and its powering 1 Kicker CVR12 DVC 4ohm sub 400rms. I have the remote bass boost and if I turn the bass boost up for a big bass song my sub will cut out until I turn the boost down some. What causes this? I was thinking it was because I have 486rms going to a sub rated for 400rms but I see alot of people running more then what the sub is rated for in watts.

Any way to fix this?

It is wired like this.

250r rider 88
02-10-2008, 02:05 AM
now im not hte most experianced person on this but because no one has replied yet ill give it a go

from what i understand some amps have a protector built into them that does this my buddy had one that did it and we couldnt figure it out till we realized that and really i dont think there was anything he could do except get a bigger amp but im no electronics expert so im sure someone will be alone to correct me soon enough just speaking from my experiance here :D

DF400ex
02-10-2008, 06:32 AM
Unfortunately there are many things that could be causing this. Amp have protection circuits built into them these days and your amp is going into protective mode when it cuts out.

The most likely cause of this would be a bad ground. Check your ground from where it connects to the amp to the car. Make sure you have as short of a ground cable as you need and that the point of contact to the car is bare metal to bare metal and is clean. Next check your power cable. Make sure it is securely connected everywhere. If you are under powering your amp then it will cut out at high volumes. Do your head lights dim a lot when you crank it? Do you have a capacitor? Is your battery and alternator old? All these could cause an under voltage condition when you crank it.