PDA

View Full Version : Stock Exhaust Header Mod (Open Up)

hornetgod13
01-27-2008, 06:44 PM
I took a tip from TRXRacer1 and decided to open up the stock header. I took a few before and after pictures and measurements. The stock header collar welds are excessive and restrictive. With a little coaching and guidance from TRXRacer1, I used an assortment of dremel tool attachments to grind down and polish the welds to match the inside diameter of the header. The results were amazing! The before and after measurements showed an 11.2% (1/8") increase in each header pipes diameter. I'm not a rocket scientist but, I'm smart enough to know that an increase of airflow on a 4 stroke engine leads to more power.

This is an easy mod to do that took less than an hour to do from start to finish. It would go perfectly with a slip-on exhaust to maximize the benefit.

Here's some pictures...

hornetgod13
01-27-2008, 06:48 PM
Here's a picture of one stock welded header pipe and the other after I opened it up another 1/8th of an inch.

hornetgod13
01-27-2008, 07:05 PM
Here's a picture of the caliper I used to measure the difference. The before and after measurements on each pipe was .125 of an inch which converts over to 1/8 of an inch. That was an increase of 11.2% over the stock header welds.

01-27-2008, 08:23 PM
i've been wanting to do this for awhile but i wasnt sure of what to do thanks for the thread the pictures explain so much. What did you do with all the shaving that went everywhere from grinding it down? dont they go into the headers?

hornetgod13
01-27-2008, 09:21 PM
Originally posted by FoxHondaRider
What did you do with all the shaving that went everywhere from grinding it down? dont they go into the headers?

I blew the metal grindings out with an air hose and once it was installed the motor blew out anything that was left over.

STUNTIN400EX
01-27-2008, 09:53 PM
GREAT POST! I WILL HAVE TO DO THIS ONCE MY HMF SLIP ON GETS HERE! BY THE WAY YOU HAVE AN AWESOME QUAD.