PDA

View Full Version : Aftermarket Linkages comparison

250Renvy
01-26-2008, 11:23 AM
I don't know if the stock linkage is really that bad or if the aftermarkets just came up with another product to sell us, but I'd like people to let me know their experiences with any of the aftermarket linkages.

These are the ones I know of, if you have something else, please let me know.

BTW I'll be using this for XC but would be interested to know how any of them cross perform.

ARS-FX
Elka
Houser
Desiri
GT thunder
LSR out law

Thanks

rollie
01-26-2008, 11:45 AM
i just put the JB superlink on my quad, i havent ridden it yet but its more towards MX, i had the elka dual link for like 4 weeks until i sold it and got the JB and the elka dual link hangs WAYYY to low for XC, i talked to alot of people that said it hangs to low for MX too.

TRX450RACER174
01-26-2008, 11:46 AM
Now out of the six you listed 2 are std travel and the other 4 are l/t links, I have no experience with l/t links i do have a GTT mx link that i am happy with, most links are going to lower your bike a little and change the leverage ratio of your shock this is why it is reccomended to get your shock revalved to work with the link or just buy a new setup with the shock made for the link, most l/t rears are useing a 17in shock you might also check out www.teixeiratech.com they have a nice link also.

250Renvy
01-26-2008, 11:53 AM
I suppose I should add this is for a custom swingarm, so if it works on a stock swingarm I can use that or if it needs to be made to use the link I can do that.

Do the long travel linkages all hang lower?

TRX450RACER174
01-26-2008, 11:58 AM
I have only seen the Elka l/t link for mx and yeah it hangs low, i believe the other links are different but maybe someone else will chime in and give there opinon on there link.

desratt
01-26-2008, 02:35 PM
elka has 2 versions. the single link you can use with a skid plate the double liink you can not..