PDA

View Full Version : becoming an atv mechanic??

sideways
01-23-2008, 01:15 PM
I have been looking over things lately, and decided on a career change. (while i'm young enough to do it.) currently, i am a carpenter, but i have always been a backyard mechanic, and do most of my vehicle repairs, and atv repairs, myself. my main goal is to become some sort of atv/dirtbike/motorcycle mechanic, with a main focus on atv's/dirbikes.
Anyone here do anything along those lines? if so, where did you learn the skills you needed?
Does anyone know of (or can reccomend) any schools that offer a program for this?

TrapZ400
01-23-2008, 02:29 PM
motorcycle mechanics institute
http://www.uti.edu/Motorcycle/tabid/59/Default.aspx

PowerSport Institute at ohio tech
http://www.psi-now.com/

Check with some of the local community colleges around your area some of them may offer an atv/motorcycle repair course.

Which 450?
01-23-2008, 09:36 PM
Ive never been schooled, but there is nothing I cant handle except machine work, being that I dont have access to a machine shop. To be a good mechanic, its not what you already know, its how fast you can figure it out.

my88r
01-23-2008, 09:51 PM
years of experience is what will make you successful in this field. :devious:

d3ktrix
01-24-2008, 12:15 AM
Originally posted by Which 450?
its not what you already know, its how fast you can figure it out.

Words to live by.

sideways
01-24-2008, 06:00 AM
thanks for the replies. i have already done some research on mmi and psi, however they are too far away from home, and i can not get away for the year i need to complete the course. i did find a school in ct that offers the program, and i am researching them as well.