PDA

View Full Version : hotcam stg 1 and wiesco piston breakin help

casey_lamm
01-16-2008, 04:50 PM
I have the bike ready for breakin. What is the process for it? What do you listen and look for? After done do you have to check the valves...

please help, im new at this.

Thanks!

drew416ex
01-16-2008, 05:05 PM
Run it over 3000rpm but not to high. Ride in a flat area and dont let the engine strain or bog. I do it for 30 min. Let it cool and do it for another 30 min then i pick up the pace. For the last 30 min my rpms vary and I put the engine in somewhat of a bind but not too much. After that i let it cool, check the valves and go have fun. Ive done this about ten times and havnt had a problem yet. I also change the oil after breakin.

casey_lamm
01-16-2008, 05:12 PM
how often are the clearances off if you do them during the installation? just curious... i will do it, just wonder if anyone finds they are off.

Originally posted by drew416ex
Run it over 3000rpm but not to high. Ride in a flat area and dont let the engine strain or bog. I do it for 30 min. Let it cool and do it for another 30 min then i pick up the pace. For the last 30 min my rpms vary and I put the engine in somewhat of a bind but not too much. After that i let it cool, check the valves and go have fun. Ive done this about ten times and havnt had a problem yet. I also change the oil after breakin.

drew416ex
01-16-2008, 05:16 PM
I dont understand exactly what you are asking.

casey_lamm
01-16-2008, 05:17 PM
are there any instuctions on how to check the vavles i had someone with me earlier...and now will be on my own...also dont have any spacers to check them, where do i get them...
Originally posted by casey_lamm
how often are the clearances off if you do them during the installation? just curious... i will do it, just wonder if anyone finds they are off.

NJ450rider
01-16-2008, 05:20 PM
All the engines ive ever rebuilt and modded this is what i do.