PDA

View Full Version : octane boosters......

trx400EXtreme
01-16-2008, 02:39 PM
has anybody had any experience with any kind of octane booster in a quad. any problems with using them??

250r4life
01-16-2008, 03:36 PM
i think its a waste of money...

i havent heard positive things about octane boosters...

my $.02

chipworkz
01-16-2008, 04:07 PM
There are several parts to this subject. First part is the booster itself. I am not an expert but you need to be careful with octane boosters. Most that I have seen are made up from alcohol of one kind or another. Some of these alcohols can damage parts in your fuel system. I did have a carb go bad after using a booster in my pickup along time ago. It ate up some of the internal parts.

The second part is why do you need an octane booster? If you have a stock motor it won't really do anything for you. The higher the octane rating, the slower the gas burns. As long as you don't have pre-ignition knock, you don't really need the fuel to have a higher octane rating. If there is pre-ignition knock then yes, you do need to raise the octane rating to the point that it no longer occurs. I would run a mixture of race gas if need be but not octane booster.

This subject can get very complex and like I said I am not an expert so I will leave it at that.

trx400EXtreme
01-16-2008, 04:25 PM
i was just curious because i'm gonna build my motor soon and i know i'm going high comp. but i couldn't decide between 11:1 or 12:1. 11:1 you can run pump gas, and if octane boosters workded i'd go 12:1. but since they are no good ive decided now. thanks guys.

chipworkz
01-16-2008, 05:28 PM
You may still be good on pump gas with the 12:1. My KFX is 12:1 and only calls for 91 octane. I do mix 1 part 110 octane race gas with 4 parts 91 octane pump gas just to raise it up a bit. I have ran straight 91 with no problems. Find someone that runs the same engine setup that you want to and ask them what there experiences are.