PDA

View Full Version : open air box

1hotex
01-09-2008, 07:22 PM
Hi, Im new to this.I just put a 440 kit with a stage 2 cam in my bike.Im wondering how bad it is to run the open air box with the choke removed?I ride mainly on trails.Also what would be better a K&N with an outerwear or a UNI?HELP!!!

CarGuy7a
01-09-2008, 07:53 PM
either filter will be fine as long as you keep it maintained. also there are some good ways to run the airbox open with using the existing airbox lid. i personally run the EHS racing lid.

http://www.exriders.com/vbb/showthread.php?threadid=330241

^^^ this guy ordered just the outerwears from EHS and made his own frame to mount it to the airbox lid. GREAT IDEA!!!:D

i went ahead and ordered the full kit so i could keep the stock lid for when things get really wet and muddy.

here's what i did to my K&N to keep it from packing up with dust.
http://www.exriders.com/vbb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=304306&highlight=users+please+look

^^^sorry i must have deleted the pictures but if you read it you'll understand what i did.

1hotex
01-09-2008, 08:08 PM
Ok i read what you did.I have questions.
1)i live in a dusty , muddy area.Does the Uni flow as good as the K&N?
2)I saw in one of the replies someone drilled a 1 or 1 3/8 hole in the lid.How would this help?

What i thought about was cutting the white intake tube futher back to get more air.(Been into import cars,always looking for more air LOL) If i cut it under the seat will it suck in mud?

maxfior
01-10-2008, 08:58 AM
Originally posted by 1hotex
Ok i read what you did.I have questions.
1)i live in a dusty , muddy area.Does the Uni flow as good as the K&N?
2)I saw in one of the replies someone drilled a 1 or 1 3/8 hole in the lid.How would this help?

What i thought about was cutting the white intake tube futher back to get more air.(Been into import cars,always looking for more air LOL) If i cut it under the seat will it suck in mud?