PDA

View Full Version : Help with modifications?

lauvrayracing
01-07-2008, 01:49 PM
I am new to this. I am wanting to know where I should start as far as mods for my boys' two DRX 50s. I bought them with the keihn (sp?) carb and had the clutch mod done by hetricks when they were purchased. I am curious to see what you all think I should get into next to get them a little more competitive. Thanks for all of your help.

Lauvray Racing
Lucas-2008 DRR DRX50 L/C Production
Cole- 2008 DRR DRX50 L/C Limited

racinmason911
01-07-2008, 02:17 PM
Suspension would be the best place to start. The guys on this forum have great connections for that stuff.

tireman43
01-07-2008, 03:13 PM
X2 suspension keeps em safe and is a great start. As far as mods there is a laundry list of things you can do. Porting, intake, exhaust, and so on. Its addictive. I'd find a builder close and see what they can do for ya. Good luck.

Also check the rules where you plan to race to check on the things you can do. EVERY place is different and if you plan to run a National race check there too.

hotquads1
01-07-2008, 04:47 PM
the production bike mods are many but be careful on your 50 limited this is a very strict class. The cvt is the secret to the 50 limited , clutching is key.
marc

JIM GRACE
01-07-2008, 05:46 PM
Also gearing makes a big change in the overall performance.
depending on the track layout a rear sprocket change can be
the diffrence from first to last. on a technical track a 32 tooth
rear sprocket runs well with good low end for the holeshot and
nice topend for the long runs. longer tracks would require a lower
sprocket for more top end. and porting does make a huge diffrence in power output. hopefully this will help...

We also run a 50 in the limited stock class where suspension mod's are a no no. The production bike will be running with
cobra's so get ready to dig deep with mods and suspension..

brandons dad #55

tireman43
01-07-2008, 07:03 PM
Originally posted by hotquads1