PDA

View Full Version : I'm a quitter

PismoLocal
01-02-2008, 06:31 PM
I haven't posted in these forums for a while, but I figure this is pretty important to post since the audience here is still young enough to take advantage of my misfortune.

I, at age 21 was diagnosed with oral Cancer this morning. I had been chewing Grizzly for almost 5 years about 1/2 a can a day. It's not spreading or life threatening but I'm going in for surgery on the 18th to have it cut out. It won't be noticable when its removed so I'm basically getting off scott free. I feel blessed to have it found early enough to not disfigure my face.

So to all you invincible youngins on here who think your not going to get cancer from smoking or chewing, or that it takes a long time to develop your lieing to yourself. I have never met any one that has or had lung and/or oral cancer, so I figured that cancer was a rare occurance in tobacco users and that its just hyped by the media. My dad (quitting with me) has chewed for 30+ years and never got cancer.

There is no cancer history in my family and I am your average 21 year old American guy. I'm in great shape, work out frequently, and I eat healthy. I thought I wouldn't get cancer because I'm in great shape and my father never did, but I was wrong. Turns out cancer doesn't care how healthy you are or if you have no family history of cancer.

I took my last dip last thursday, I already made it through my 3 day hell and tomorrow I will be one week closer to freedom from dip. I'm not craving that bad but I feel sick.

So to every one that reads this quit while your ahead don't try tobacco products, or if you are already started quit now. You might read this and think "it will never happen to me I won't get cancer" but your wrong, its not a matter of if its a matter of when if your using. After all thats exactly what I was thinking last Thursday when I was taking a dip while driving to my dentist's office before they found a lump in my cheek.