PDA

View Full Version : Parts interchangeable between 400ex and 250R?

rr outlaw
12-28-2007, 06:52 PM
What parts are interchangeable between the two? I am looking at a set of a-arms, shocks (front and rear) Axle, swingarm, from a 400ex and want to know if they fit.

ESR250R
12-28-2007, 07:00 PM
Originally posted by rr outlaw
What parts are interchangeable between the two? I am looking at a set of a-arms, shocks (front and rear) Axle, swingarm, from a 400ex and want to know if they fit.

axle will work if you use the 400ex hubs, the front shocks will work and i think thats it.

rr outlaw
12-28-2007, 07:10 PM
What about the A-arms?

mineralgrey01gt
12-28-2007, 07:58 PM
front bumper also if you use spacers on the bottom

ESR250R
12-28-2007, 08:04 PM
the a-arms i think are, but only if you modify them slightly. i've never done it, but i have heard that before.

xlr810
12-28-2007, 09:12 PM
The top a-arm is slightly shorter on a 400ex than a 250R, so it'll create a bunch of camber, which can be adjusted on aftermarket arms, but not stockers. The a-arm mounts on the frame are about 3/16" wider on the R, can just run a few washers, or swap to the R bushings in the case of stock arms.

The above replies mentioned stuff that swaps fine. Additionally, the master cylinders can be swapped onto an R from an EX. Tie rods and ends fit. Fenders from the EX can be made to work on an R. The drive chain and rear sprocket work on an R... I'm sure I'm forgetting other items.

honda400exr
01-05-2008, 02:27 PM
There's a pretty big amount of parts that can be swapped if you really want them to swap over. I've got an 86 r frame with 400ex front calipers and master, 400ex rear sprocket is a direct bolt on, the drive chain is the same (520), i've got 400ex plastics and seat on it right now, and to top it all off I've got a 400ex motor in it too. (that's not a bolt on part though)