PDA

View Full Version : Works shocks questions

mbx5
12-28-2007, 06:46 PM
Sorry for this up-coming stupid question - I am a noob... I am rebuilding my 400ex that I purchased as a complete basket case... I just got some Works triple-rate shocks w/ res... I installed them and noticed it has a lot of "squat" in the front end... Is this the way they are supposed to be and is this a good thing, or should I adjust them so that the springs are pre-loaded more to lift up the front end?

Also - and dont flame me on this one - do I need to grease the upper and lower eyelet bushings on the shocks?

Here is a pic of the "squat" - a-arms are almost straight across with just the weight of the bike on them - it sags about 2" or so...

http://www.industrialrobotix.com/DSC04476.jpg

Brauap
12-28-2007, 06:52 PM
When you bought them, are they ment your your A-Arm length? Your weight? I also don't understand what you mean by squat. Could you explain this to me please?

PS I am a noob too..:ermm:

mbx5
12-28-2007, 06:53 PM
when the weight of the bike is on them, no rider, it sags down to the level shown in the pic...with stock shocks it sat about 2" higher....the works shocks I put on are the same length as stock - just over 16".

12-28-2007, 06:55 PM
thats like TT racing shock setup. Either that or you have long travel a-arms and standard travel shocks

F-16Guy
12-28-2007, 07:31 PM