PDA

View Full Version : Solidworks help

Bradracer18
12-18-2007, 05:25 PM
Hey guys. I'm just learning Solidworks on my own right now, and I have learned Mechanical Desktop/Auto CAD before. I know this may sound stupid, but I'm having a hard time doing much of anything with this program.

What I need help with is this:

Probably very basic, but I need to draw a rectangle and then extrude it. I did this just fine. I also needed to fillet the corners, which I also figured out. BUT, my problem came when I needed to put another rectangle(with fillet corners) inside of this box, to make it hollow. Basically I have one box about 12 inches by 12 inches, and another smaller box about 11.5 inches by 11.5 inches. How do I do this?

Robin Hood
12-18-2007, 07:04 PM
If it's anything like autocad, create the second box as a second piece, fillet the corners, then place it inside the other box where it needs to be, and subtract it. If there's not a subtract option then I wouldn't know. Good luck man.

Waddell
12-18-2007, 08:18 PM
You will have to do another sketch on the surface that you want to make hollow. then do a extruded cut through the object
It's really simple once you figure it out:p

Pipeless416
12-18-2007, 09:12 PM
you could also choose a plane, then draw the size of the inside box you want, then in the extrusion command, you should be able to set the depth and direction that it will extrude from. its hard to say without it being right in front of me, but if all else fails, cut off 1/4 inch off one side of what you have, then extrude what you need on the inside, then remake what you cut off. :) this is a case of being much easier done than said.

brendn35
12-18-2007, 10:27 PM
like they said pick the easiest plane to work off of and draw what you want and extrude. if you've learned autocad you can draw the object on that and convert it to solids. the programs work together if they are the same year.

Bradracer18
12-19-2007, 06:32 AM