PDA

View Full Version : Hillclimbs FREAK me out!

Ridiculous
12-03-2007, 08:21 PM
well, i just started riding. all my buddies have quads and i've always wanted one so i got one. we do a lot of trail riding and what not and whenever we come to a hill i always puss out. i guess i'm writing this thread looking for tips and tricks to climbing hills and getting my confidence up on hillclimbs as well. what advice do ya'll have for me. i know the obvious lean forward up, lean back down but there's gotta be more to it than that. granted my buds have been riding longer that i but still, is it just the fact that they have bigger balls than i do and i need to accept that or what,LOL

anyways, lay it on me!

Ghost-Rider
12-03-2007, 08:25 PM
First gear, stand up, lean forward and go.

xtullyx16
12-03-2007, 08:25 PM
start with small hills then get bigger as u get more confident.. but always have sumone with you for safety! and wear a helmet! lol

also you could ride with one of your friends and see how they handle they're quad when the go up hills.. i guess that could work?! atleast help

Hondamaster5505
12-03-2007, 08:32 PM
i make sure other people could get up the hill before i attempt it.

Speed is key alot of times.

3/4 the way up is mainly momentum.

I used to puss out alot too, but im going bigger and bigger a little at a time.

For less stepp but very long/tall hills, sit in a normal position and gain a lot of momentum

For steeper hills that are long or short, lean foward slightly and do the same.

Ill tell ya what though, i would never climb hills if i had a 660 raptor, those front ends scare me!

Heres a small one i did

Ridiculous
12-03-2007, 08:33 PM
cool, thanks for bein cool about this!

my dad has a farm and i'v got some sweet trails out there and my buddies have made some hill climbs and they're short but fricken steep (to me at least) so i just need more gradual ascending hills is all for now i guess

trx400EXtreme
12-03-2007, 08:37 PM