PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice

wvspeedfreak
11-16-2007, 04:57 PM
I have been an auto mechanic for 17 years and have been working at the same garage for 15 years.I have recently been offered a job at another place of business doing similar type work but more specialized in the hot rod/muscle car field.Now,here is where I would like some advice.I feel that where I am currently employed I am pretty much topped out as far as pay goes.It is a small family owned shop and you can really only get so far up the ladder.However,I have been there long enough to have the flexibility to take off when I need to and pretty much do whatever I want and that means alot.With the new job though,I will have the opportunity to make more money right from the start with room for advancement as well.It is a hard decision that I know ultimately will be up to me but I just wanted some input from others on it...................

416exfreak
11-16-2007, 05:00 PM
Are you hurting for money?

If not, then I would stay where you are. You said yourself that you have flexibilityto do just about whatever you want. I wouldnt burn my bridges if I were you. If you would like to just have more $ laying aroun then take the new job, but remember...you'll be around new people, in a strange shop.;)

Good Luck

Pappy
11-16-2007, 05:02 PM
Jason, youa nd i both know the small shop is going by the wayside. I'm in the same boat and will soon be on my own, but if given the chance, I'd skip off to a larger company for the $$ while its there. (I should have done that years ago!)

Follow your gut!

(and yes we want to come to austins party, just waiting on bridget to verify it and i need a time place etc)

Ghost-Rider
11-16-2007, 05:35 PM
I'd go for the bigger shop, but it's your life so it really doesn't matter what we would do.

SRH
11-16-2007, 05:40 PM