PDA

View Full Version : Kfx450 - trx450 comparison

norton
11-09-2007, 09:25 PM
Im new to the quading world and I found that riding a quad and jumping back on a bike is just not practical, you lose the edge and i need a new quad and im jumping between the kfx450 and trx450. Price is a deffinate factor but i would like to hear your guys input on the two quads in comparison.

chipworkz
11-10-2007, 01:25 PM
The December issue of ATV Illustrated has a write up on the KFX and the November issue of ATV Action has the TRX 450, TRX 700, KTM 450 and KTM 525.
First look at what kind of riding you are going to be doing. If you are doing a lot of tight trail riding where a reverse gear will be a big benefit then the KFX would be a good choice. I haven’t ridden the TRX 450 but Hondas are a great product. My daughter has a TRX 250 EX and it is great for her. I chose the KFX 450 and I must say I LOVE it. This thing is rock solid and I have never felt like I was going to tip over on it. It is awesome in the tight stuff and totally stable in 4th gear power slides. If you are doing fast wide open riding the gearing is to low but it is great for the slower technical stuff. I rode bikes all my life and jumped right on to the KFX 450 with no problems. You will need to adjust the suspension to match your riding style. It is set up to stiff for the desert riding that I am doing. If you are a play rider and in the normal rider range, I don’t think you will need to do anything except adjust the clickers. The only issue I have had was the leaking gas tank recall, but that shouldn’t be an issue at this stage. The gas tanks produced after May 7th I believe, don’t have the problem. They are hard starting until around the 10 hour mark but after that it fires right up with no problems. If I was going to buy a quad today, I would still get the KFX 450. It is an awesome quad.

norton
11-10-2007, 09:24 PM