PDA

View Full Version : HRC Cam install q's

bloodmoney23
11-09-2007, 08:57 PM
Ok, im a noob at working on 4 strokes....this is the first ive owned but......ive been working on cars my whole life and can adjust timing and valve lift and all that on a car but this is a whole new ballgame here. I figured it would be easy liek a car. I replaced the piston with a 11.5:1 piston and HRC cam and put everything back together. Torqued all the bolts down to correct specs. 40 ft lbs on head bolt and 10ft lbs on camshaft carrier and I did all this the same I always did on my 2 strokes. Anyway heres my problems and questions.

Problems:
1. No matter what I do with piston at TDC the cam gear timing marks are off by either 1/8in above/below camshaft carrier marks. Thats with adjusting sprocket one tooth each way.
2. My feeler gauge fits on left side in. and ex. but right side wont.

Questions:
1. Do I just need a new timing chain or is there another way to adjust?
2. Is it common to only have to change shims on 1 intake and 1 exhaust or is something just not right?
3. Should I just take it to a shop and have them do it? (unlike some unfortunate others there is actually 2 really good shops around here that wont screw people over) thats referring to the honda screwed me post.

CSR400EX
11-09-2007, 09:28 PM
on the timing marks, my cam marks are about 1/8 below the carrier mark. as far as i know that is how it is supposed to be.

go to the link below and watch the hot cams installation video for a CRF450, and it explains a lot
Hot Cams (http://www.hotcamsinc.com)

Ty's400
11-09-2007, 09:57 PM
Originally posted by bloodmoney23
2. Is it common to only have to change shims on 1 intake and 1 exhaust or is something just not right?

I only had to replace shims on one side of exhaust and intake last time I adjusted my valves. Don't know how common but yes it can be a circumstance.

bloodmoney23
11-10-2007, 01:25 PM
thanks for the help guys

Rich250RRacer
11-11-2007, 07:28 AM