PDA

View Full Version : 1st ride analysis(KTM 525)

kd228
11-04-2007, 04:16 PM
I have been racing mx for 2 years on full blown honda trx 450's. Every modification imaginable on both bikes. I just purchased a KTM 525 (couldn't resist) and took it out to The Landing Mx in Maryland for break-in period. After 2 laps, I just had to hit the jumps (moderate to pretty large doubles and table tops). The gearing was short and tight together but once I introduced myself to 4th out of the corners, the jumps were a breeze. On my Hondas, 13 / 39 gearing, I would corner in 3rd and will have to clutch it for days to hit big jumps. On the KTM, I would corner in 4th barely cluthing and pin it and could hit any jump out there and still had alot more to pull down the straights. My hondas have a tendency to bogg if I'm in a higher cornering. Not on the KTM, no bogg period in 4th gear. On my attempt to hit a long double(before I meet Mr. 4th gear), my rear tires clipped the landing and I flew over the bars and my bike went cart wheeling about 5 -6 times into a sediment pond about waist high. We pulled the bike out of the water and to my suprise the bike started without hesitation. The FRAME and every other component held up with no breaks, bends or dings. I did put some fastt flex handle bars on and some razz mx (18" rear and 19" front) on 3/2 offset hipers. Also used spacers on rear. KTM did not feel tippy at all. I set my suspension half in the front and rear. I love the KTM and plan to race my pretty much stock bike at Budds Creek in 2 weeks against full blown MX quads rather than my Hondas. I'll let you know how I did.

BlaineKaiser450
11-04-2007, 04:30 PM
sounds awesome

spanky101
11-04-2007, 05:33 PM
sounds really good. Do you have any pictures of your bike? Thanks

Quad_Runner
11-04-2007, 06:18 PM
Nice review...

carnutvic
11-04-2007, 06:56 PM