PDA

View Full Version : yfz battery

mittman
11-01-2007, 09:47 AM
i just bought a 05 yfz and i'm new to the yamaha family. when i start it up it sounds like the batt is weak but it does start it sounds like the starter should be turning faster i'm not sure if thats how its supposed to be but if anyone can help let me know thanks

11-01-2007, 01:15 PM
Might be weak. Its hard to tell over the internet. But give it a charge see how she goes.

Toadz400
11-01-2007, 03:57 PM
I would definitely charge it up or else take it out for a nice long ride with your lights on. Since it's an '05 it probably sat for quite awhile without ever being started up, thus slowly depleting the battery's charge.

Do you have a trickle charger? If so, I'd throw it on one of those over night.

mittman
11-01-2007, 04:05 PM
yep if i can find it

Trx4Life
11-01-2007, 04:31 PM
I just cut out the little compartment where the owners manuel went behind the battery and put a 14bs battery in mine. Its huge but it fits just enough to put the seat back on. Stock is I think 85cca and the 14bs is 200cca. Not to mention you can get it at walmart for like 60 bucks. Verses the 150 the stealer wants for a new yfz battery.

Just a thought encase you think yours is going bad.

Trx4Life
11-01-2007, 05:22 PM
I just cut out the little compartment where the owners manuel went behind the battery and put a 14bs battery in mine. Its huge but it fits just enough to put the seat back on. Stock is I think 85cca and the 14bs is 200cca. Not to mention you can get it at walmart for like 60 bucks. Verses the 150 the stealer wants for a new yfz battery.

Toadz400
11-02-2007, 11:36 AM
Originally posted by Trx4Life

Yea it's very common for people to swap out the stock battery for a larger motorcycle battery. I think the most common one is the CBR600R battery. Much cheaper at Wal-Mart and a whole lot more cranking power. Not entirely sure if this will have any effect on the starter though.

pro-rider46
11-04-2007, 07:15 PM