PDA

View Full Version : 310 overheating

machrburt
10-24-2007, 08:58 PM
i just bought a 310 bolt on kit from ESR. did the proper break in and only got 10 min run time before the rings /piston melted. 38 air stryker 185 main, 52 pilot,needle in middle, pump gas, 32:1 honda hp2 oil, esr trx6 pipe, cool head, engine ice. i was running at sand lake, oregon. 75 degrees out. i am 285lb. rider anybody know what could have caused this??? ESR says overheating, but what else can i do??? i hear alot of people who are runnig below 185 mains with no issues

pimpt250r
10-24-2007, 09:26 PM
you weigh almost 300lbs, your jetted for like a 200lb rider,+ they say you should perform a leakdown test, a 310 puts alot of pressure on your seals and you coulda sucked some air ,
and you said pump gas whats your compression , thats probably your problem
those are the answers your gonna get

Im a painter not a mechanic,
so a mechanic can chime in whenever they want

got any pics of the carnage

deathman53
10-24-2007, 09:28 PM
I'm using a 170 main, BUT its not all your main jet. Get a richer needle for one. The main jet is only the primary factor in ~3/4-wfo. The needle and pilot jet play a big part, also the air screw can too!!! Next question, what radiator are you using/how good of condtion is it in, and how is your water pump????? All these are factors. Did you check your carb-motor flange too??? If that has the smallest of cracks it can lead to lean condition like is happening to you. And finally is your crank seals good??

I had a 330 that ran very hot, I had a really rich needle and a 205 main in it, it still ran hot. I blew the top end, due to the crank seals, rebuilt everything and it didn't run quite as hot, but still too hot. I replaced the carb-motor flange, it ran extremely rich. I put a normal sized main in it 170-180, put a much leaner needle and it ran alot better.

pimpt250r: I didn't think about the pump gas.