PDA

View Full Version : who's good at porting?????

cincy250R
10-22-2007, 05:52 PM
hey i was gonna get head ported and polished when i have it tore down this winter and was just wondering who does good work???

-Dave

f150mann
10-22-2007, 08:09 PM
do it yourself, save lots of cash. you may not get 100% of the power a pro would, but you will get 80% and cost nothing. anyone with some common sense can do it.

10-22-2007, 08:10 PM
what if you take off too much or make it uneven, then what?

GOTFEAR
10-22-2007, 08:11 PM
Me.

f150mann
10-22-2007, 08:29 PM
like i said, anyone with common sense,

go slow, shave off minimal amounts, you will be fine.

maybe its just because im a machinist, but its hella easy and i think anyone who doesnt rush will have no trouble

zrpilot
10-22-2007, 08:30 PM
IMO opinion leave porting to the pros.

C&D
DRG
Venom
GT Thunder
Sparks

Just to name a few.

f150mann
10-22-2007, 08:34 PM
if you are not comfortable with your work, dont do it.. but i mean really, im sure there is several others here who have done it theirselves? did you guys not find it easy

gncc025
10-22-2007, 08:38 PM
ive never actually done it myself but i know what is involved and i agree with f150man. use common sense and if you have some decent skills with hand tools it should turn out good.

underpowered
10-22-2007, 08:39 PM
do not do it yourself!

porting is delicate work. sure, anyone can do a clean up port job. clean up the castings a bit is easy. but to really port it out and remove material you have to know what you are doing. you really need to get it even all around, a novice will not get it right and will not get anywhere near the gains a pro will get.

10-22-2007, 08:54 PM
sucks to pay over $350 for 4hp though :/

JOEX
10-22-2007, 09:02 PM
Originally posted by FoxHondaRider
IMO the general rule when building motors is $100 = 1hp:)

underpowered
10-22-2007, 09:03 PM