PDA

View Full Version : Firefighting?

Jake250ex
10-16-2007, 09:36 PM
Well, I graduated last year and have been really unhappy bouncing from one crap temp job to another.

So Ive given it some thought, and a firefighter seems like a decent gig for me. From what Im told, its 3 straight days and requires some training. Any thoughts?

troyleepred719
10-16-2007, 10:10 PM
Originally posted by Jake250ex
Well, I graduated last year and have been really unhappy bouncing from one crap temp job to another.

So Ive given it some thought, and a firefighter seems like a decent gig for me. From what Im told, its 3 straight days and requires some training. Any thoughts?

First of all, think of it as a full picture. There is way more involved than you think. You will be doing crazy training, the training never stops. You will miss you family events, there is no callin in sick, unless you find a willing swap partner, who usually doesnt care less about your excuses. You will see things you never wanted to see in your life. Ever imagine pulling a dead 8 month old out of a house fire, after cutting a hole in the roof, just to find her... It will become your reality, sadly most lifely more tha n once. Everyones worst day, is your day at work, LITERALLY. If you can deal with life and death dayly, and im not saying do the manly thing of step up your pride and tell us all that your a man you can handle this, i mean think about it before you consider it, CAN you, and most importantly do you want to? there are many things that will change your life, but all in all, and it will make you a better man for it. now with all the bad stuff aside, the good things. you will become a part of a world wide brother hood, volunteer or career, we all respect each other, and we all will do anything for the other, even burn. you will become a hero, you will be looked up to, and when you make a difference to some one, you will feel it.