PDA

View Full Version : drx90 bogging on low end?

greenmachine70
10-15-2007, 11:27 AM
My sons drx90 is bogging on low end. Absolutely no holeshot. When you pin the throttle, it bogs down, moves slowly for 1-2secs then it picks up speed.
The carb appears to be very clean. I have adjusted it every way possible. I have a nice tan/brown burn on the plug.
I changed the air filter to a k&n with a foam prefilter wrapped around it. I changed the main jet from stock 105 to 115. That helped the top end a little. BTW, it is a Mikuni carb stock.
Could this just be the torque spring or rollers?
Please help...

greenmachine70
10-15-2007, 11:29 AM
oh yeah, I am a newbie on here. Been lurking for some time. Thanks for all the great info.

drr5
10-15-2007, 11:49 AM
is this an air cooled or water cooled? sounds to me it could be the carb,but tourqe springs may also play there part

greenmachine70
10-15-2007, 12:08 PM
air cooled

hotquads1
10-15-2007, 02:04 PM
I am with drr5 , is it an OKO carb? if it has been running well and this started suddenly the torque spring is suspect , this is an easy fix and good maintainance too , is the cvt setup all stock?
marc

greenmachine70
10-15-2007, 02:46 PM
quad is totally stock.
it has a mikuni carb
I added the k&n style a/f with a foam prefilter wrap.
I also upped the mj to 115(to see if it helped)

greenmachine70
10-15-2007, 02:47 PM
wihtout spending a bunch of money, i would lve to see this thing have the ability to pull the front wheels up. I am ready to change all the springs & rollers if that will do it.

How do you tell what size the carb is? I know it says Mikuni on the side for sure.

Thanks

drr5
10-15-2007, 03:09 PM
what year quad is this? if its an 06 or earlier you would have the 16mm , if thats the case i would get an intake and an 24 keihn round slide,and change the rear tourqe spring, clutch springs, roller weights.

hotquads1
10-15-2007, 03:21 PM