PDA

View Full Version : 400ex, Got,fuel, fire and comp. but wont run?

Bugman53
10-15-2007, 12:39 AM
I honed the cylinder is its perfect, rings are new, valves are good.
I build race motors for a living and its got me stumped.

Things I’ve checked so far.

Stock timing key and is not sheared.

cam is in time. (Im going to tear it back down and put the degree wheel on it but i don’t think that is the problem) Lobes facing down with the marks lined up with the head. Kind of odd the cam seem 1\2 tooth off but its way off if I move the chain a tooth is either direction. One think I did not check is if the cam gear is facing the right direction. Will that make a Difference? IF the gear is 180 out but the cams are still facing down?

Cam chain is good.

Bottom end is solid.

Its getting fire. HOT blue spark

Its getting fuel( will not even hit when i spray starting fluid into the intake)

any ideas?

Bugman53
10-15-2007, 07:18 AM
Alright update

I pulled the cam and it was missing the plunger for the decomp lever. Pressed the cam apart and pull off the decompressor off the cam.

It got 150 psi comp 5% leak down cold.

The 3rd time ive checked the cam timing its spot on.

Piston is at TDC, the cam lobes facing down, Valve lash is correct. flywheel is lined up at T mark, Cam gear is lined up with head with Center mark facing up.

When i turn the motor over it pulles a vacume from the header. It is pushing through the intake. BUT IT IS IN TIME>>> WTF. Its like the motor is turning bakwards.

It hit for a second but that was it.

400exrider707
10-15-2007, 12:39 PM
A 400ex will NOT run with a stock cam with the decompression mechanism still installed, if the plunger and/or spring are missing from the head. I know from personal experience. I pulled my hair out for over a week trying to figure it out. Put those in and it fired right up.

Also the 400EX can NOT be 180 degrees out of time, its impossible.

JOEX
10-15-2007, 05:45 PM
Originally posted by 400exrider707