PDA

View Full Version : 450r locked up ***PLEASE READ***

creampuff
09-27-2007, 07:08 PM
I have a 2005 450r and I bought the engine off the internet in july. I have had it on my bike for about 2 months now and I have put about 10 to 15 hours on it. When I was riding tonight it died, and it felt a little harder to kick back over but it started then died again. When I went to kick it back over the motor was locked up. It has oil in it and a clean filter. I dont know how many hours are on the engine or what kinda past it has had. I dont know what to look for as far as fixing it or what might have happened. Has any one else had this problem?

TRX450RACER174
09-27-2007, 07:35 PM
Sounds like the crank, pretty common on that year.

creampuff
09-27-2007, 07:37 PM
That means total rebuild huh?

TRX450RACER174
09-27-2007, 07:43 PM
I'm no expert on 04/05 450R's but i am sure someone else will chime in, there was a stickey in this forum or the powertrain about 04/05 cranks.

MX450
09-27-2007, 07:50 PM
Yea the 04/05s had an issue with the crank bearings, you really wont know untill you tear it down, although if you werent riding it hard or anything when it locked up and you didnt hear any breakage when it died then you may be lucky as far as major damage, but again, wont really know until you tear it down, or have someone tear it down if you cant. Any idea on how many hours were on it when you bought it? How did it look, pretty clean/dirty??

If you dont know much about motors, I would suggest looking for a performance shop around your area (ex. nacs, baldwin, hetrick) a place like that that knows quads they will be a better bet than a stealership.

creampuff
09-27-2007, 08:00 PM
The more research I do the more it looks like the rod bearings. I was not being to hard on it tonight. Heck I didnt ever ride for more than 20 minutes and it was game over. Its pretty expensive for a rebuild I think. I dont know of any good places in oklahoma to go to.

KEVIN132
09-28-2007, 06:26 AM