PDA

View Full Version : 250 2 stroke bikes

ny300exrider
08-21-2007, 09:39 PM
im thinking about getting a bike to play around with when my dad wants to use the 400ex and to work on becoming skilled at dirtbiking since ive been riding quads for 6 years and am looking for another challange.

there are lots of nice looking 250 smokers on craiglist local for reasonable prices....wondering what you guys think about them since im not very familiar

i ride mostly open feilds, sandpits, and powerline trails with the occasional tighter trail here and there. i like sand hills, small jumps, and GOING FAST. im always 5th pinned on my 400ex through the feilds wishing i had more power.....

how are the 250s reliability wise?
how do they compare to a 125?
any certain brands better or worse than others?

i can get 250s for the same or a few hundred more than the 125s around here....like i said i want a challange and want speed so why not go for the bigger bike

i have a good head on my shoulders.......know my limits....know not to push it.....always wear gear....yaddayadda

to be honest, big bikes scare me still.....which i kind of like...i want to master something that scares me

im 6'2 155lbs

gimme your opinons
thanks

CRich[814]
08-21-2007, 09:45 PM
you seem responsible enough and experienced enough for a 250. personally, i hate them. it feels like a workout after i ride one. they vibrate soo much more than my 125 and speed wobble like crazy. a 250 for those situations would be more desirable than a 125 for the open sections and stuff. bikes are pretty damn reliable. they're not a 400ex, but they aren't that bad. some things that used bikes mostlikely need is just basic stuff. tires, sprockets, chain, top end ($110), and sometimes other smaller things. just go over the bike real well and make sure everything is good. depending on what year 250 your going to get, id go yamaha no matter what unless its a 2000/2001 CR250.