PDA

View Full Version : 450(4-Stroke)vs 250/125(2-Stroke) What's faster?

4LEAFCLOVER
08-13-2007, 02:04 PM
I know this is a 4-wheeler forum but I'm debating on crossing over to the dirtbike world. And I'm wondering what's faster and what would be a better fit for me. I don't ride motorcross or anything like that. I just ride for fun and drag my friends for fun. What would be the fastest bike, one of the new 450F dirtbikes or a old 250 2-stroke or 125 2-stroke?

I'm looking at buying a YZF 450F or a KDX 450F.

Any suggestions??

sandmanblue
08-13-2007, 02:35 PM
If you have to ask this question, you shouldn't be buying the 250 or the 450....

4LEAFCLOVER
08-13-2007, 02:54 PM
Well I'm new to the dirtbike side of the house so I wouldn't know. I've rode a KX 125 and a YZ 125 but I just was wondering how I would fare if I was to purchase either of the two? 450F or 250

Flyin-Low
08-13-2007, 03:51 PM
Yeah, my buddy bought a cr250 to go along with his quad.. and he was fairly new to the dirtbike world as well.

He sold the bike within 2 weeks of buying it because it ended with the bone in his leg sticking out of the skin. Not a pretty sight.

So if your new to bikes, don't buy the fastest chit out there.

-Martin

sandmanblue
08-13-2007, 04:25 PM
Originally posted by 4LEAFCLOVER
Well I'm new to the dirtbike side of the house so I wouldn't know. I've rode a KX 125 and a YZ 125 but I just was wondering how I would fare if I was to purchase either of the two? 450F or 250

Buy a 125 and after you feel confident enough, sell it and buy the 250.

There are far too many ppl out there that buy stuff because they want power, but 2 wheelers can be plenty fun with only 30 hp. Keep in mind that the 125's only weigh about 195 lbs, and if you're on a track, believe it or not, a 125 can run nearly the same lap times as a 250.

4LEAFCLOVER
08-13-2007, 07:00 PM