PDA

View Full Version : New To Racing

ATV Hammond
08-07-2007, 12:23 PM
I am 16 and have just sold my 100cc quad. (Too small as you can imagine) I have decided form the help of you guys to buy a 08 YFZ. I am quite nervous about how much power the 4 stroke 450 will have against my previous 2 stroke 100.

It gets worse! I have been saving up to race for 2 years and really want to start next year; my first race is about the end of March. I will buy the YFZ in September some time; problem is that I will only have 6-7 months riding it.

I have never ridden a manual gear box, never raced before, never even attempted a descent size MX jump; biggest quad ever ridden is a 170cc, never been on a MX track.

Will I be ready to race in this time?

Do you think this is a good idea or not, HELP! :ermm:

FoxRacing81
08-08-2007, 08:56 PM
Originally posted by ATV Hammond
I am 16 and have just sold my 100cc quad. (Too small as you can imagine) I have decided form the help of you guys to buy a 08 YFZ. I am quite nervous about how much power the 4 stroke 450 will have against my previous 2 stroke 100.

It gets worse! I have been saving up to race for 2 years and really want to start next year; my first race is about the end of March. I will buy the YFZ in September some time; problem is that I will only have 6-7 months riding it.

I have never ridden a manual gear box, never raced before, never even attempted a descent size MX jump; biggest quad ever ridden is a 170cc, never been on a MX track.

Will I be ready to race in this time?

Do you think this is a good idea or not, HELP! :ermm:

I bought my YFZ on a Thursday, took it to the race and got 1st on Sunday.

Granted I rode a quad bigger then 100cc and I rode a 450 before that, you should be fine with 6-7 months. Hell you should be fine in 6-7 weeks. Just start slow.