PDA

View Full Version : racing a 300

cr977
07-30-2007, 07:47 PM
i have a stock 300ex and it is in pretty good shape. i used to ride quads many years ago and got a dirt bike, i have been riding dirt bikes for like 4 years and i switched to quads 2 months ago and i am already riding my 300ex to just about its full potential. i am on a budget so i am going to keep the 300 just mod it, i dont know the racing classes so i would need to know, i am 15 turning 16 pretty soon so that may be some good info. i am going to put the basic mods on the bike, plus i am going to bore it out could someone give me some tips?

SET THE STAGE
07-31-2007, 12:34 PM
before anything, get a pipe. stock 300 pipes are VERY restrictive. curtis sparks are wonderful and not too expensive compared to other companies.

300exOH
07-31-2007, 12:46 PM
Suspension...even a used set of works shocks would do the trick. The stock shocks are horrible on the 300 and it is very easy to push them to the limit.

Also like set the stage said... a good pipe and proper jetting really wakes up the 300. Just stay away from cobra and the low end DG pipes. FMF, HMF, Sparks, DMC alien and even the high end DG pipes will help. I have the sparks x4 and it made a HUGE difference from stock. Just make sure you go with a full system and not a slip on. The stock header is very restrictive even on a stock motor and it would really hold back a modded engine.

What type of racing are you planning? XC, MX, etc...?

cr977
07-31-2007, 01:49 PM
Originally posted by 300exOH
Suspension...even a used set of works shocks would do the trick. The stock shocks are horrible on the 300 and it is very easy to push them to the limit.