PDA

View Full Version : 426 trouble

ex_freestyle
07-24-2007, 01:09 AM
ok well you see i have just re-built my 400 to a 426 now and it is acting funny on me in the top end i have a stage 1 hotm cam, 4 degree timing key and a 13:1 JE piston in her curtis sparks x-6 full system, no air box lid or snorkle, k and n air filter and cdi and rectifire in it and i got it running today and when its cold i can go pretty good with out opening it up but when it gets hot and im in 4th gear and crack it you can hear the vaulves slaping around and same in 5th but when i idle half pinned it dont do nothing its just when i get on the trottle in 4th and 5th they slap hard and i ajusted my vaulves to what they are supposto be and its jetted to a 190 and its on the 3rd clip on the needle i want to get this thing running right before i go to bruel this weekend so could someone give me some sort of idea what it might be

thanks

STEVENJANNA
07-24-2007, 07:34 AM
I can tell you what you're hearing but not why, because I'm working on the same problem on a similar setup. You're hearing what's known as valve ping. It's caused by the pre-detonation of fuel in the combustion chamber. Since you have a 13:1 compression ratio you may need to run a higher octane fuel. The quad I'm dealing with only has an 11:1 JE in it and we have exactly the same issue.

John the IM still doesn't work right.

davetheslave
07-24-2007, 10:23 AM
yeah detonation. I have 12.5:1 440, and my motor pings if I run anything less than 106 octane.

davetheslave
07-24-2007, 10:24 AM
one more thing: If your running too lean with high octane it will also detonate. So make sure its getting enough fuel, and the octane you run is high

m36indiana
07-24-2007, 03:44 PM
i have a 426 with a stg 2 hot cam that runs just fine, i would get rid of the timing degree key heard it wasnt good for a built motor

GOTFEAR
07-24-2007, 11:20 PM