PDA

View Full Version : 400ex stalls

xanadiu
10-28-2001, 04:20 PM
I recently bought a used 2001 400ex and
noticed it stalls all the time when idling.
I put in a new spark plug but that didn't work.
Is it maybe a carb problem? I am new at the
atv scene.I even tried tinkering with the idle
screw but that didn't work either.anyone with
any ideas will be greatly appreciated,thanks!

"BLAHH"300!!
10-28-2001, 04:28 PM
your talking about after you ride the bike for a while and let it get warmed up- ??- it still dies when ideling or--
after you first crank it and let it go a minute it won't idle??

10-29-2001, 10:29 AM
HAs the bike been modified in any way....carb,,muffler,,etc. Has the air filter been cleaned lately???

knighttime
10-29-2001, 11:22 AM
Put a bigger pilot jet in that mofo. All 400's come lean for enviromental reasons. After you put a big pilot in there, u can tweek it with the small carb screw, or maybe just the black throttle adjust knob on the carb will do the trick.

RideRed04
10-29-2001, 03:25 PM
You gotta pull the clutch in, or it wont start. :D Mine doesnt work right untill it is warmed up, so I would check that.

"BLAHH"300!!
10-29-2001, 03:54 PM
if the bikes in neutral the clutch shouldn't have anything to do with it- i'm sure you know

xanadiu
10-29-2001, 04:54 PM
Originally posted by EX-CITING 300
your talking about after you ride the bike for a while and let it get warmed up- ??- it still dies when ideling or--
after you first crank it and let it go a minute it won't idle??

I'm talking about after it's been warmed up
even after 2hours,I have to give it a little gas
or else it stalls... not the easieest thing
to do considering I got 5 hours of riding
under my belt.

xanadiu
10-29-2001, 05:00 PM
there hasn't been any modification on this bike.
The guy I bought this from bought it for
ice fishing.He only used it during winter.
The air filter is clean.My buddy has a 400