PDA

View Full Version : shock questions

kawabunga
07-10-2007, 04:06 PM
hello all, i have a shock issue.
i've been running the stock shock on my 450 because that was on it when i bought it. the quad is an '04 and it has been raced a few seasons and it is apparent that the shock is need of a rebuild. i found out today that the stock shocks are not rebuildable from my local honda dealer. i wasn't looking to get anything fancy done, just a refreshing. now that i can't do that, i need to do something else.
i was wondering what my options are and what other people such as yourself have done. i am a college student so funds are not the highest, however, i want to ride.
i know i could send my shock out to some shop like GT Thunder or others and get it re-valved, but how much does that cost exactly?
i've also found some used, take-off, rear shocks on ebay and on forums that go for a decent price, but would it be more worth it to send it out?
and then there's always aftermarket, but i could only afford used again.
i'd appreciate any input and opinions on what to do, my other susupension mods are Long Travel Lonestar +2 a-arms with Fox Float Evols and the swingarm is stock with a +4 axle, if that helps to determine what to do.
also, which year rear shocks will fit on my '04?
thanks
kawabunga

Sjorge450R
07-10-2007, 04:19 PM
its usual for a dealer to lie to you. I CAN get the shocks rebuilt. In fact, theres like 10 companys that will respring/revalve the stock shocks for under $1000 for all 3 including a new linkage. Derisi seem to be th emost popular and cheapest. He just got mine and returned them to me in under 2 weeks. They went out on a monday, came back the following friday. I love it. He called me, let me know how everything was going. I got the shocks and i rode them, let me tell you, he knows that he is doing. Great guy with great support and service. Price is 745 with linkage