PDA

View Full Version : Hard to sleep!

Lowcountrydave
06-29-2007, 02:55 AM
Anybody else work weird hours? I work 3 sets of 12's 5pm-5:30am during the weekend. I find it hard to go to sleep on my days off. My body is use to being up during those late hours. Any ideas on how to trick myself into getting a decent nights sleep?

Sleepless Dave

HondaEXrider22
06-29-2007, 04:17 AM
Benadryl is a non addictive sleep medicine. Its whats in Nyquil only without the cold stuff.

ATV Chic
06-29-2007, 06:55 AM
Any over the counter meds that have Diphenhydramine as an ingredient will work. Benadryl being the main one and Tylenol PM or Unisom. Hope that helps! (I am a recent pharmcy school grad;) )

u_want_some
06-29-2007, 07:20 AM
WEll I can definatly speak on the weired hours....I work from 6:30am - 3:30pm, and then go from 4:00 pm to midnight, Thats monday through Friday and have Sat. evening off and all day Sunday. I personally use tyenol Pm. They work great and dont make me feel bad the next day.

06-29-2007, 07:33 AM
i used to work 7 pm to 7 am, 3 days on 4 days off...i miss those hours...

on the last day when you get home, do not go to sleep...stay up until you can no longer stay awake...that was usually 9 pm or so for me...if i made it to 11 pm, i was surprised...

the rest of the days, make sure you are up early, no later than 7 am and do not nap during the day...of course for that first day back, i would stay up until about 2 am the night before and then get up around 8 am and then take a nap from 10:30/11:00 until about 1:00/2:00...

my problem with sleeping was when i got home after work...i could never fall asleep until 10 at the earliest and would have to get up to get my daughter from day care by one...now that she is in school(except for summer months of course), i can sleep until about 2:45

REDRIDDER
06-29-2007, 11:37 AM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Lowcountrydave