PDA

View Full Version : Help Tires not beading..

trueblue450
10-21-2002, 08:01 AM
I cant get the bead to seat on my ITP Holeshots... I got 20x11x9 I think my rims are 10x9 is that gonna hurt. My friend got his razors to bead and they arethe same dimensions as my itp. I got one to bead on the inside. But its just not workin ?>?? and help?

NTPRacing#19
10-21-2002, 08:15 AM
aight here is a tip my dad uses for big Mack truck tires, he takes some Ether starting fluid and sprays it around the the bead getting inside the tire. USE as little as possible while going around the bead. then light it with a match or something then the tire will inflate and set the bead very quickly. be careful doing it

Texan32
10-21-2002, 08:39 AM
ether is a GOOD way to hurt yourself. I've been working tires for 6 years now. Here's what you do. take the core out of the valve. make sure the bead is lubed up REALLY good (concentraed soapy water works well. Give 'r he!! with air. It sometimes takes like 30psi (though i wouldn't go much higher) to seat the beads on atv tires. If it won't seat, there's nothing you can do but keep giving it air. Also, the reason you take the core out of the valve is so that when the bead does finally seat, you can let the air out quickly....incase you have to really pump it up.

p.s. my buddy has holeshots that one of them is really hard to seat the back bead....

chavez
10-21-2002, 08:41 AM
be carefull!!!! it could leave a mark. i like to run a little trail to saftey then light it you will get a big bang

rcclark03
10-21-2002, 03:44 PM
Ether is scary shiznit. I would listen to texan.
I just put some razrs on, if the tire is to the point where it is holding air, just inflate it to 30 or 35psi max, sometimes a little more than the max recommened psi is necessary. Make sure it is lubed good with soapy water like texan said. If it won't seat, deflate, reinflate a little, bounce the tire around, and inflate to max again. Be patient, it will seat.