PDA

View Full Version : Help me pick a cam

tweaker
06-13-2007, 04:39 PM
I had a seriously built Banshee for probably 10 years that I sold 3 years ago. I'm new to 4-stroke quads. I've got a clean '94 300EX that I'm putting the topend of the engine together. It already has a Wiseco 11:1 piston in a fresh bore and a White Bros pipe. I'm trying to decide what cam to go with. I want it to be well mannered across the powerband, but also want as much top end as possible, considering my background. I want to be able to woods ride it as well as hit the dunes. What would be my best bet? How about a Web Cam 254 or 236? I want to go as big as reasonable without killing the bottom or making it too hard for someone less experienced to ride. Help me sort through this. If you've got anything used, I'd entertain that as well. I'll need rockers and springs to go along with it.

wilkin250r
06-14-2007, 02:33 AM
The 300EX has pretty small ports, so it doesn't breath well enough to really rev out. A cam will help, but if you want top-end power, consider spending a few hundred in a good port job (and possible oversized valves). It will really increase the top end. You will probably also need a high-rev CDI if you go this route.

tweaker
06-14-2007, 05:26 AM
Thanks for the info. I'm not planning on spending that much dough on this quad though. With that in mind which cam would make me happiest with a stock head?

400exrider707
06-14-2007, 06:03 AM
I'd just toss in a hotcam and be done with it, no messing with rockers or valve springs.

REDRIDDER
06-14-2007, 09:30 AM
Originally posted by 400exrider707