PDA

View Full Version : Need Help

RideHard26
06-11-2007, 02:36 PM
Hey guys I need your help in deciding which quad to get.

I've been riding ATV's for 3-4 years now, my first quad being a (not sure on year) Honda Recon 250. I rode that for about a year than upgraded to my brothers 2003 Honda Sportrax 300ex. I loved the 300ex compared to the Recon! Anyways, I've been riding the 300ex for a few years now and it's developing problems, but most importantly I need a power upgrade and something new.

I know my new quad is going to be a Honda, I love them, but I'm just not sure which model. Basically it's between the 2008 Honda TRX450R and the Honda TRX400EX. The first thing I want to say is I want to buy brand new and I'm wondering why there's no 2008 TRX400EX on Honda's website? The latest model I see is 2007?

Anyways, the quad is going to be used for all types of riding! It needs to be very versatile! I do alot of exploring so it's going to be riding every type of trails you can imagine! Fast sand trails with speed humps here and there, fast dirt trails, tight woods trails, sometimes muddy, big rocks here and there, big steep hills, sand dunes, and occasional small time jumping. But there's also good wide open locations around where I really want to be able to open up and rip!

Oh yeah I can't forget to mention I live in New England so in the winter there's gonna be extremely cold temperatures with snow on the ground, and in the summer it's gonna be really hot.

And by the way I'm not going to be able to do any serious internal mechanical upgrades, I just don't know how yet. I gotta keep it simple like nerfs, handguards, etc. The most technical I could get would probably wheels and tires and maybe having my dad help me install an exhaust system. (And would you guys please post the better brands out there for upgrades/mods?)

So yeah what's gonna be better for me? 450R or 400EX?