PDA

View Full Version : Bracket Racing......wanna help lol

firefighterjosh
06-11-2007, 12:19 AM
I am going to watch a buddy race at the drag strip. Since it is bracket racing I thought hell with it I am going to race my ranger too. Just for fun. But for the competitive person I am I want to win lol.

I have a 04 4.0 with 33s. AUTO!

I can start in the road with the brake all the way down and the gas all the way to the floor. Then dump the brake like a clutch with minimum wheel spin. Mainly just some chirrping. How bad do you think this is on my truck? Guessing not something I want to do all the time lol.

Also since its bracket racing I have to dial in. not sure what times I will be running but lets say I run a 17.2, 17.34 and 17.0. What should I dial in at? 17.1? or maybe just go with 17.0 since its my first time and no sence in getting DNFed?

When I watch it on TV I notice if the guy is ahead of the person next to them they let of the gas right before the finish line. why is that?

Quad18star
06-11-2007, 05:12 AM
If your truck is consistent like most newer vehicles are , you won't have to let off the gas .

Guys let off the gas because they're sandbagging . If both of you guys run the throttle to the floor , you should technically be photo finish at the line . If your opponent is behind you when you're getting to the line , that means you either hooked up really well and are gunna run below your dial- in so you let off the gas in order to not run below your dial in .... or it could mean he's sandbagging also. :p

As far as dumping the brake peddle like a clutch , there's no point really , you're just putting more stress on your motor for nothing . Just hold the brake so you don't roll , then tramp the gas when the light goes green .