PDA

View Full Version : bmx bike

quad_racer_17
06-06-2007, 10:17 AM
just startin out and i was wonderin wat bike would be better haro or dk?? also what is the 1st trick i should learn

bigz-71
06-06-2007, 10:28 AM
are you wanting to race or do freestyle?

They both are good bikes. I have owned a haro and i liked it but i also like DK, i think their bikes are a little cheaper than Haro but that does not mean made cheaper.

I have been racing for many years now. I personally race standard 125R bike. it is a good bike but it not for starters just cause it will cost you serious money to build you a Standard, the frame alone is 400 bucks!

The last thing i will say, is you might look at the component each bike comes with and see which one has the better components and if you want a light bike, see if one of them is Alum. or Chromoly (4130). Alum is lighter but it flexes and 4130 is stiffer. Alum will not rust where 4130 does. I hope some of this information helps you any.

quad_racer_17
06-06-2007, 10:39 AM
freestyle

bigz-71
06-06-2007, 10:46 AM
i probably would see which bike offers 14mm axles with 48 spokes wheels. 3 piece cranks and 4130 Frame. Those are a must to have for freesytle.

BVRLVR
06-06-2007, 12:44 PM
if your lookin for a bike i have a S&M holmes thats like new, only a couple of street rides on it, pm if interested

killerofcrows48
06-06-2007, 06:07 PM
my haro hasn't once let me down yet, awesome bike

416exfreak
06-06-2007, 07:54 PM
My haro is a tough old bike...

If i were you, id go with an eastern though...high quality, low price...for the most part!

standardryder
06-06-2007, 08:06 PM
i also ride a standard, and i wouldnt trade it for any other bike.
another thing you should make sure is that the entire frame is 4130 chromoly. alot of the cheaper frames will have 4130 dropouts or chain/seat stays and a high ten steel frame.
first trick, id say get good at J hops, its pretty much the basis for every trick.

Mxjunkie
06-06-2007, 08:35 PM