PDA

View Full Version : KFX450 Problems Running

kawi_kx
06-06-2007, 08:25 AM
I recently purchased a KFX 450R and I am having problems keeping it running. I have no problems getting it started, but it will only run with the choke/ idle knob pulled out. I start the bike, warm it up with the knob pulled out and then when the bike is warm, I push the knob in and the bike immediately dies. If I keep the bike revved it will continue to run, but it dies at idle. I've adjusted the idle knob and nothing works. I installed a new spark plug yesterday and it didn't help at all. I only have about 2 hours on the bike. I've ridden motocross my whole life and this is my first attempt at quads, especially fuel injection.

adrenalinefreak
06-06-2007, 05:26 PM
I hope for your sake that yours is not having the same issues as mine...

First, mine had starting issues...would take forever to start..sometimes just push started it which worked everytime

Second, was I went out to the track and hit a small jump and when I landed the quad lost all power, backfired and died! It started back up but just didn't sound right. Got back to my truck and waited for them to get done watering the track. Went to fire it back up and it wouldn't start.

It was trying to start (so it was different than the initial starting problem) So we tried push starting it and it would fire up and then backfire and die or just die. So I brought it back to my work/sponsor (dealership) and they've been troubleshooting with Kawasaki for 3 weeks now.

We adjusted the TPS, butterfly valve, idle speed (which you can adjust with the choke know) not sure if you knew that by turning that know (choke) you are changing the idle speed!