PDA

View Full Version : Couple of Dumb Questions

u_want_some
04-16-2007, 11:24 AM
Alright call me stupid if you would like........I have a 86 TRX 250R motor and I am trying to take off the center clutch nut (the one inside of the clutch basket) and the bolt the attaches the primary drive gear to the crankshaft. How do I keep the gears still while trying to remove the 2 bolts/nuts? Is there any secret to doing this....And yes this is my first time rebuilding a 250R motor, so any other advise would be greatful, Thanks in advance

jonboy
04-16-2007, 12:37 PM
My only advice to you is to get a manule(sp)

u_want_some
04-16-2007, 01:22 PM
What do you think that I would take apart a 250R motor without a manual? LMAO!!!! I have a manual and if you can tell me where to find a gear holder tool then you'll be a friend for life, and where in the manual does it say how to pull the bolt out of the primary drive gear?

Other question: Can you use an Air Impact to remove these 2/bolt/nuts?

koh0001
04-16-2007, 08:27 PM
Center clutch nut. If you still have the motor in the bike with the chain still on, you can use a long extention and put through the holes in the rear sprocket and let it bind up with the swingarm. use a impact it will spin right off.

Dave83
04-16-2007, 09:28 PM
You can take an old clutch fiber diber disc and weld a handle to on of the ears that slide into the basket and hold it like this.I always stick a penny in the drive gears and use an impact to get the nut and bolt out.Did it last night as matter of fact.

matt250r21
04-16-2007, 09:29 PM