PDA

View Full Version : kickstart conversion

blanchard
04-09-2007, 08:06 PM
I am completley rebuilding my 03 ex for mx, and im wondering if i can completly remove the electric start and have only kick start? any help would awesome, this is my first time rebuilding a quad any advice on where to start would be very much apreciatted.

thanx

underpowered
04-09-2007, 08:49 PM
SEARCH! this topic has be brought up, beat to death, then brought back up to be beat back to death. there are many post on it.

pretty much you need all the internals from an XR 400 motor, so pretty much by the time you are done with it, you might as well jsut buy a complete XR400 motor and sell you stock 400. you need almost the entire XR bottom end to make it work.

steve #7
06-26-2007, 05:28 PM
The it is a easy swap I did it. Won't fit 05 on up because of reverse. all other years are already machined. Big perfomance gain.

j450rking
06-26-2007, 09:37 PM
i would relly like to see some pics of that

steve #7
06-27-2007, 09:06 AM
I will post more the fly wheel weight difference is unbelievable Gobs more torque

steve #7
06-27-2007, 09:14 AM
no starter, wire harness, or any other electrical. Also eliminates the rev limiter. so you need no after market CDI

steve #7
06-27-2007, 09:29 AM
Here is the diference in the flywheel . 2 1/4 lbs. lighter do the math. 38 % more torque on a dyno to the rear wheels. So sometimes when someone comes up with a Question lets not make fun of them . their only try to go faster.. I only ran this set up in practice . This next race it will be used in open A. So tune them big bore 450's. Oh yeah a stroker crank with a standard stroke piston makes 15-1 comp. but you'll need the biggest web cam with alot of valve overlap to kick it. Hot cams do not work.

400exrapes
06-27-2007, 10:12 AM
if you have a dyno chart of your quad id love to see it cuz i beleive u i wanna see what kinda numbers you pull

davetheslave
06-27-2007, 10:23 AM
wow.....Thats ******* sweet!!

steve #7