PDA

View Full Version : shoulder seperation. how long to heal?

660bigdaddy
04-09-2007, 11:35 AM
i'm sure somebody on here has had one. i have a 3rd degree seperation of the a/c joint. dr. didn't say, won't see him til next tuesday. any info would be great.

4TraxRider
04-09-2007, 11:37 AM
When my bro dislocated his he was supposed to wear a sling for like 3 weeks and not do anything strenuous with that arm. Took it off after two weeks or so and said it was fine but stiff from not using it.

660bigdaddy
04-09-2007, 11:39 AM
how long before he could ride, use his arm? thanks,,

Kendall33
04-09-2007, 11:41 AM
I just did that on Saturday riding at Chadwick I went to the emergency room and they said it was a possible separation of the AC so I have an apointment at 3:45 today with the orthopedist to verify whats really the matter...but either way I am not comfortable in this sling!

smr
04-09-2007, 12:17 PM
Dislocation and seperation are two totally different things. I did the type 3 seperation in 2003 three. It took about a month before I could use the arm much at all. It took a total of about 2 1/2 months before I could race again.

Good luck and did they tell you, you will always have a little bump up there.

660bigdaddy
04-09-2007, 01:44 PM
you will always have a little bump up there
i guess it will serve as a little reminder:D worst wreck on a quad for me.... 2. 5 months and able to race sounds pretty good! pic is 20 minutes before wreck...

mephyst
04-09-2007, 01:47 PM
Shoulder injuries are tough. They are one of the injuries that tend to always stick around and give you pain in the future, even if it is minimal. So the time it will take to heal can vary up to months apart from someone else.

smr
04-09-2007, 02:09 PM
Originally posted by mephyst