PDA

View Full Version : 07 TRX300EX Upgrades

timb052
03-30-2007, 01:29 PM
I just got a TRX300EX about two months ago and i am dying to do something to it. I want to do some upgrades to improve performance.

I have been wanting to put 20s on the back. What sprockets do i need to get to make it the back to stock. Also what is the best tires to get.

I am completely dumb when it comes to fourwheelers, but I am fairly new to them.

Also I am still in college, so I want to keep the cost down.

Timbo

bwamos
03-30-2007, 01:44 PM
20's on back.

Raise the front to a 14 tooth (will have to shave the chain slider on the case).

Or, drop the rear to a 36 tooth.

14/38 should give you close to stock final ratio on 20's
13/36 will give you just slightly lower gearing that stock on 20's.

Bolt-on Bang for the buck. Pipe, Filter, Rejet.

After that, suspension, IMHO.

timb052
03-30-2007, 02:03 PM
what does rejetting mean? I mean i know it has to do with carb, but that is something i dont know anything about.

bwamos
03-30-2007, 02:45 PM
The carb is pretty simple once you figure it out.

There's 3 main circuits (or positions).

Pilot wich controls idle-1/4 throttle ranges
Slide and needle jet wich controls 1/4-3/4 throttle
Main Jet which controlss 3/4 - Full throttle.

The pilot jet controls how much fuel is let in at idle.
The needle is tapered and allows less to more fuel in as the slide raises (when increasing throttle).
The main jet is what controlls the maximum amount of fuel let in when at full throttle.

Generally if you are flowing more air (filter and exhaust), you need to compensate with more fuel. More air+more fuel at the right ratio = more power. ;)

Simplistic of course. No need to get into interpreting bianary language of a watch processor when all you want to do is change the battery.

Here is a great article.
All carbs vary a little but the basics are the same.

http://www.duncanracing.com/techfaq/Tech_keihin-carburetion-jetting.phtml