PDA

View Full Version : Removing the topend, need some tips

awsomeaussies
03-27-2007, 02:50 PM
I've never done this before, so I'm looking for some tips on taking off my top end so I can send it to C&D for some boring:D I have a manual... but they make it seem more complicated then I think it is. lol What all am I going to have to remove?

Bill Fuller
03-27-2007, 03:01 PM
Make sure motor is TDC.Remove all plastics and fuel tank.Remove cam chain tensioner.Loosen all bolts on top cap in criss cross pattern.Cap should just lift off.Remove 2 screws from cam chain gear.Remove gear,I always used a rag or zip ties to hold the cam chain(do not let it fall in the motor.Lift out cam,make sure if your ATV still has the decompressor to not let it fall in the motor.The pin is located under the cam and it has a spring also.Next remove all head bolts. With a rubber mallet or the handle end of a hammer lightly tap on the cylinder and lift/rock until it starts to raise. Before you lift it completely off stuff rags into the opening so you wont drop anything in the motor. Hope this helps and I hope I didn't leave any steps out. While you got the top end broke down might as well replace valve guides/seals.

awsomeaussies
03-27-2007, 03:07 PM
Ok thanks, that will help alot! Do I need to drain my oil? Or would it be fine?

Bill Fuller
03-27-2007, 03:14 PM
Drain the oil. Replace and flush if necessary when you rebuild. Gasket scrapings and dirt will get in the motor.The more careful you are the better.Inspect cam for "chatter" marks and also inspect the cam followers (rocker arms) for wear.

awsomeaussies
03-27-2007, 05:44 PM
I just got off one bolt off the cam chain sprocket... but how do you turn the chain in order to get the other bolt off? Do you just grab it and turn it? Because that didn't work for me. lol

400exrider720
03-27-2007, 06:25 PM