PDA

View Full Version : Broke my frame weld it or get a new one?

trickedyfz
03-23-2007, 10:51 AM
I was cleaning my yfz 450 and i noticed i broke my main frame completly. I am not sure when i did this i have an idea but not for positive. I don't know if i should try welding it or get a new one. i am going to check with my insurance comany about buying new one and if they will cover it. race season is around the corner also.i was just wondering if i should try to weld it?

Bill Fuller
03-23-2007, 02:02 PM
Without pics it's hard to say but I would imagine you could get away with re-welding.

nicker71
03-23-2007, 03:02 PM
just weld it and gussett the rest of the frame.

Splatter Matter
03-23-2007, 04:07 PM
dont tell you insurance comany you race they might not cover it

trickedyfz
03-23-2007, 04:34 PM
I was also wondering how much a gusset kit was and if there was a certain brand or what i am new at this frame **** i have always had 400 ex's and rode woods and just now getting in to raceing and jumping. Now that i am jumping i obviously break frames...i was just wondering some more info on gusset kits.

STEVENJANNA
03-23-2007, 05:25 PM
Originally posted by trickedyfz
I was also wondering how much a gusset kit was and if there was a certain brand or what i am new at this frame **** i have always had 400 ex's and rode woods and just now getting in to raceing and jumping. Now that i am jumping i obviously break frames...i was just wondering some more info on gusset kits.
Any kit will work but the Walsh kit is the most complete. I raced the second half of last season on a welded frame with no issues. Where is your frame cracked (on the back down tube between the lower sub frame mount and the pivot bolt?).

STEVENJANNA
03-23-2007, 05:27 PM
picture of mine

hoser 400ex
03-24-2007, 09:25 PM