PDA

View Full Version : clutch cable problems

luther
03-22-2007, 08:07 PM
i have a question, i am not an expert at bikes, motors and/or mechanics, so bear with me.....

My 1999 400ex has changed hands like a dollar bill, so i dont know the history of the bike. The clutch cable is and has always been super super stiff, like taking all 4 fingers and grittin your teeth to close the clutch lever. The cable has broken twice, at the lever, and after each it is still just as stiff as before, even before riding it again. The cable is not in a pinch. the cable, does run straight down the stem, and inbetween the header pipes and a smooth curve to the clutch assembly, the cable has a spring heat shield on it half way up. The motor does not slip from the clutch or seem to be in need of a clutch. The cable takes every thread beside clutch and on the lever to meet decent play in the lever.

Like i said earlier, im not a mechanic, so is there any decent steps, when a reader responds, and says take the case off, is anything goin to fly off like shrapnal, or fall out like marbles? I know the bike has had a racing past, it has been professionally gussetted, and had some extras on and taken off, is it possible to put an 8 disc clutch with hd springs, instead of the 7 disc thats stock. ive been told there is rumors of this on my bike, but i dunno. Whats the side effects of using an 8 disc clutch, assuming that is the issue, if you cant tell im dredding taking off the case, what are some tell tell not-so-good things to look for? how many fiber plates, springs, and plates are supposed to be in a stock clutch?

Thanks all info is a help, feel free to pm me if someone reads this shortly

BossmanEX
03-22-2007, 11:58 PM
It could already have the HD springs. That may be the reason it is soo hard to release.

krt400ex
03-23-2007, 12:43 PM