PDA

View Full Version : Hate Cotterpins? Look Here

NacsMXer
03-15-2007, 07:58 PM
This is something I have always done on my quad that I thought I would share with you guys. Cotterpins can be a pain to deal with when they don't want to cooperate with you...we've all been there :p

Instead of using cotterpins on my front end, (e.g. tie rod ends, balljoint castle nuts, etc) I simply clip off a piece of a small paper clip, slip it through the hole and wrap it around. This has never failed me, and the best part about it is you can remove/reinstall them with nothing more than your fingers :cool:

Not sure if I would use this idea on hub nuts but it sure does work well at all the little points on the front end. Try it out!

hornetgod13
03-16-2007, 03:44 AM
I'm a jet mechanic and I know the importance of cotter keys. I aggree that they can be difficult to bend in tight places but, they are there for a reason. Putting a paper clip in it's place is not a wise move. You're on your own with this. I wouldn't recommend this to others. What happens if someone that takes your advice has an axle nut or steering bolt comes off and you loses a wheel or control of the quad while riding? It's just not worth the risk.
Just stick to cotter keys. Learn to bend them. One other thing, dispose of a cotter key after one use. Replace them each time they are removed.

gbcap
03-16-2007, 08:25 AM
i use saftey wire...holds up great and you can just cut it and pull it out.

NacsMXer
03-16-2007, 12:51 PM
Originally posted by hornetgod13
I'm a jet mechanic and I know the importance of cotter keys. I aggree that they can be difficult to bend in tight places but, they are there for a reason. Putting a paper clip in it's place is not a wise move. You're on your own with this. I wouldn't recommend this to others. What happens if someone that takes your advice has an axle nut or steering bolt comes off and you loses a wheel or control of the quad while riding? It's just not worth the risk.